Chile Reciprocity Fee

The US Dept of Homeland Security has designated Chile a visa-waiver state effective May 1. What does this mean for US travelers? Beginning May, Chile no longer requires a reciprocity fee that cost visitors $160 to enter the country.

The reciprocity fee is a dollar amount that is charged to citizens of the USA, Canadians and Australians for entry into Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil and Paraguay. The fee is in direct relation to what each home country charges residents of the visited country, and was usually valid for the life of the passport. Argentina’s fee has further complications by requiring payment in advance online, as detailed in our earliest post.

What does this mean for you? There’s no better time to book a flight to Chile. Call Willamette Intl Travel to start on your journey now: 503-224-0180 or email

Leave a comment

Filed under News

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.